The Profession Map provides our profession with a strong foundation for effective decision-making. To help you do this, we've defined six core areas of knowledge required to drive change, create value and make a positive impact in the world of work:

  • People practice
  • Culture and behaviour
  • Business acumen
  • Evidence-based practice
  • Technology and people
  • Change.
Built on the latest research and insights, the core knowledge areas represent the theory underpinning the people profession, identified through academic research and input from across the profession. They're relevant to all people professionals, and set out everything you need to know to be an effective practitioner - regardless of your role, sector or specialism.
Play Video

Explore the Core knowledge areas

Download the full set of standards

View the full list of core knowledge standards inside this downloadable document (PDF, 933 KB).